Especially Blessed

From So Young (dictated to James):

James said that I slept for over 48 hours straight. Before I went into the biopsy, I remember being very tired and coming in and out of sleep, but I believe that that was God’s way of calming a very anxious person who easily succumbs to freaking out over the smallest things.

I remember being really scared and worrying, “What if I suffer a stroke?” I worried about all of the bad things that could happen, so God was being gracious to me as He allowed me to sleep through my fears. He also saved James from a lot of grief from me, because I can be pretty aggravating. Lucky James!

Today I didn’t [“officially”] wake up until past 2 p.m. Jealous? Yeah, well get over it! I’m allowed to sleep like that.

I’m on about five different medications, and I’m very sleepy. My angel of a mother-in-law knocked on my door and asked if I wanted to eat at around 11:30 a.m. She brought me coffee and toast with butter and orange marmalade and jam and fried eggs with oozing yokes.

I want to use this blog to communicate the Gospel to you. First, you need to hear the Gospel, and then you need to respond to it by confessing that you are a sinner by nature and praying that God will forgive you of the sins you commit every day. He has come to save us from our wretchedness. So you need to hear, respond to, and accept Jesus as your Savior.

We are to accept the free gift of faith and the free, eternal gift of life, so that when we pass from this world, we will pass into heaven and the arms of Jesus, to be taken into a perfect place, “filled with glory and grace” as the song says. He will wipe every tear from our eyes and give us perfect peace — a steadfast peace. He will bring us joy and restore all the things that have been taken away. He will give back abundantly.

After we respond, we are to receive. We are to receive eternal life and his Holy Spirit. The Bible says our bodies are the temple of God. So God comes to live with you and empower you and comfort you and to be a Counselor, as we live this life in faith.

What a wonderful, wonderful God we serve. This is my prayer for anyone who sees this blog: that you would ultimately hear the Good News for all the bad news in the world — that you would hear God calling and that you would believe, accept, and respond. Jesus is the doorway to eternal life. We don’t deserve it, but He gives us so much. Stop being so hard-hearted and hard-headed and believe in God, because He is good. I’m thankful that I am able to understand his goodness now. As I taste the closeness of death, I am even more shocked at how God could give us such a lavish love and how deep and wide it is.

If you don’t believe, pray that God will give you that faith. It’s amazing, because even faith is a gift.

The Bible says: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds” (James 1:2). What  great blessing it is to go through affliction and suffering and be able to live this truth.  Not everyone will have the chance. I feel especially blessed because God is bringing to light so many truths from his Word, which is coming through like a wellspring of life right now. I am able to understand it with my soul, and that in itself it a miracle, and for that I am thankful, dear God.

6 Responses

  1. Sweet So Young, You look so beautiful through out this time. I’m amazed at how good you look. I praise God that you came through the surgery with no discernable problems other than sleepiness and a bit of disorientation. God is teaching your girls as well as James. Quiet Shannon is vocalizing her needs more frequently. This makes caring for her easier. Expressive Lindsay memorizes and quotes scripture in an amazing fashion. Bouncy Audrey is quick to do what she knows must be done. The girls remain a joy.

    I love you.

    Mom alias Nanna

    • Mom,

      It’s so interesting that you would say that about So Young. I was thinking this morning about how pretty she looked while we were in Baltimore, only a day after surgery.

      Love,

      James

  2. So Young, thank you so much for your words of wisdom… you are truly a light, an angel on this earth. You have so much to teach me and so many other people. You are truly a blessing to me, to the world. Continue to rest and recover… I love you!

  3. So Young,
    I’m sending prayers your way…I remember talking with you about running when I came out to DC to visit, and I saw your passion and fire for it. I’ll visualize you running, healthy and happy, able to get the joy and peace from it that only runners know. 🙂 Hang in there–Dave and I are rooting for you!
    Cami (Gage) Stock

  4. Ruby, you truly are an example for all of us. Thank you. You’re in my thoughts and prayers every day and I hope you’re recuperating well. We had no internet access since Wednesday, a very fierce storm hit Vermont.

  5. hello gage family!!!

    always so blessed & humbled when i read the blog! thank you for sharing so freely & openly! we are benefiting so much from it! i can not help but give praise to God for His goodness to you the gage family & to each one of us during this time!

Leave a Reply

