But You Surpass Them All

From James:

Short Version: A new little one is brought into the world, So Young and I think of another reason to celebrate our marriage today, and we are honored to receive a gift from Amanda and Ashton, along with a hundred other kindnesses.

Long Version: The first reason to celebrate today: So Me and Jeremy, So Young’s sister and brother-in-law, had their second son, Jacob, today. Congratulations, guys! Enjoy the blessing of your new baby.

But So Young and I have always celebrated on December 7. Why, you ask? How can an American celebrate on Pearl Harbor Day? Well, on this day 14 years ago, I got down on one knee, read her a poem that I wrote all by myself, and asked her to marry me. Later, she observed that the poem was “not great, but pretty good” and that she “felt sorry” for me, so she said yes. (No, but in all seriousness, we were all weepy and embraced, she said yes right away, etc. I think the poem worked, so if you are single and want to get married, you should try it.)

On this day it occurs to me that So Young (a.k.a. Ruby) deserves to be honored publicly, since she has often honored me when I’m not around, which is the most genuine kind of praise. So, my love, here are some verses for you, albeit not from a poem, but from a much better Author than me, that perfectly describe how I feel about you:

A wife of noble character who can find?
She is worth far more than rubies.
Her husband has full confidence in her
and lacks nothing of value.
She brings him good, not harm,
all the days of her life.

Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
“Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

(Excerpted from Proverbs 31.)

Also, So Young was delighted today to receive the recordings that Ashton and Amanda from our church family created just for her – “Amazing Grace” and “Because He Lives.” Absolutely beautiful. Unspeakably kind. You guys are officially on my “Favorite People” list for loving my wife in this tangible, meaningful way. So Young said, “This type of kindness is really overwhelming, because music means so much to me.” (Their recordings remind me of the CD that So Young’s best friend Kim made, consisting of encouraging music and audio messages from various people to lift So Young’s spirits. So Young was touched by the prayers they prayed.)

That was one act of kindness among many we received today. Some are everyday kindnesses, like Mom taking care of the kids, like she does every day. Some are more extraordinary, like the encouragement of my coworkers, Christine bringing us dinner even though she herself has a newborn, Mom and Grace reorganizing the kitchen, Jin taking So Young shopping, Dad arranging for an electrician to visit our house to plan for better lighting, Lawrence taking time out to have lunch with me…

So Young called me this afternoon. She was emotional, but this time it was happiness and gratitude.

2 Responses

  1. Walking down the road together enjoying the joys and sharing our sorrows. We know the end of the story, and in that we place our trust. Mom

  2. […] who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the LORD” (Proverbs 18:22). You surpass them all. Also, the amazing thing about you is that, no matter how many years go by, you still seem so […]

Leave a Reply

