Born for Adversity

“A friend loves at all times, and a brother [or sister] is born for adversity” (Proverbs 17:17).

From James:

Yesterday, our dear friends Helen (who brought a meal for us Tuesday) and Erica (who did the photo shoot for us) drove So Young to Johns Hopkins. They left at around 8:15 a.m., and I believe they returned sometime after 3 p.m. — no small sacrifice of time, considering that they used a vacation day away from work in the process, but sisters like them are “born for adversity,” as the proverb says.

 

Helen and Erica

Helen’s sister, Sungjin, is driving So Young today. She had to find arrangements to watch her kids, and I know she has other things going on, so it isn’t easy, but Sungjin has always been there for So Young. Again, a many hour journey. She’s glad to do it for her friend.

So Young’s vision is alternately worse and better. Yesterday it was particularly bad, although on Tuesday she said she could see clouds in the sky (which is poetic) and the Mormon Temple (which may not be saying too much, considering its size and shiny-ness). On Tuesday, she also wrote her first text message to me in a while: “i luv u xoxo.” Not to get too personal, but the next one said, “y ib cae. goig 2 kubxh.” Yeah, I have no idea what that means, either.

3 Responses

  1. So (and family),

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, and your family as you trump through this agonizing ordeal. Your writing is beautiful; your faith surreal. My heart swells when I read about your better days. I love your positive outlook on this seemingly senseless disease. Please, please don’t hesitate to reach out if any of you need anything.

    With fondness and hope,
    Jennifer

  2. Ruby, James and the girls, I hope that 2011 is going to be a good year for all of you. I’m sure looking forward to Ruby posting her training program for her next marathon. Hopefully the MCM!

  3. Helen and Erica are such gracious, generous ladies. I know that So Young enjoyed her time with them. The girls and I enjoyed the donuts! Their loving care of So Young gave me peace, and I was able to accomplish much during So Young’s absence.

    I just loved Sungjin’s happy attitude when she came. I felt like she was going on a ladies day out rather than a visit to the hospital for treatment. Her abundant love for So Young blesses our entire family.

    When a family emergency arises in our family, I do my best to handle it, but I’m aware that my thinking is “foggy.” The day that Helen and Erica cared for So Young, I felt myself come out of the fog. Thank you kind ladies.

Leave a Reply

