Holding Me Up

From So Young:

Seven days of radiation treatment left! I’m really starting to feel the exhaustion set in. Over the last month or so it manifests itself as pity parties, at least a half a dozen, where it’s just me late at night weeping and asking God, “But why? Why me? Why this?”

And then I hear his quiet, still voice, always gentle and kind, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” As I have said and will say again, “God is good!” In these moments, Jesus takes me by the hand and lifts me up to stand on him, the rock, my firm foundation, my everlasting hope. These despairing moments don’t last long as I remember each and every one of you. Your prayers and thoughts are holding me up! My sadness turns to rejoicing as I see your love. Thank you, loved ones, for walking alongside us and making this grueling race so worth every step!

Grace, peace, and love,

So Young

9 Responses

  1. Well don’t forget to let me know when you need a “runner” by your side. I’m ready to jump in the car and head down your way when you are ready. Lots of love and hugs.
    Deb AKA Colorado Dreamin’
    P.S. A month after the MCHH there is a 1/2 trail marathon in Prince William Forest Park…thinking of signing up (its not a 50K, but its a start)…I promise to stay by your side and watch out for you (and the logs, and rocks etc.)as long as you promise not to run too fast…let me know…more hugs and love.

    • Thank you, my faithful friend and running partner. I’m logging in miles on the treadmill just to get moving. The next step might be running short distances outside. I’m much slower. I put on a lot of weight from the steroids. But a run outside would be nice! I miss you! — Love, So Young

      • Just let me know, and when you are ready to run outside short or long, I’ll come down on a Saturday morning…it will be like old times. I’ll be waiting for your call…:o)

  2. Hey So Young,

    You are such a trooper, I can’t imagine going to Hopkins everyday. Thank God there is only 7 more days left. Praying for a miracle. You are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I am so encouraged by yours and your family’s strength as you battle this illness. Love ya Girl!

  3. the GMU Patriot in me wants to bust out singing Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ On a Prayer” on your behalf… except you’re more than halfway there 😉

    p.s. “Livin’ On a Prayer” was Mason’s theme song when the men’s basketball team went to the Final Four in 2006.

  4. beautiful and so inspiring So Young… you are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. may you continue to be used in mighty ways!!!

  5. yeah! 7 more days! you are doing great so young even though i’m sure it is so challenging in so many ways! i LOVE that verse…GOD’s grace is definitely so sufficient for all of us! and HIS power is speaking volumes to us all through you! press on!

  6. Seven days is what God needed to create the world, 7 days is what you need to get through to create a whole Ruby. You’re always in my thoughts and prayers.

  7. And on the seventh day, we’ll ALL rest easy. Home stretch, darlin. LOVE LOVE LOVE you.

Leave a Reply

