20/20: A Coincidence or a Sign?

From James:

I went on the Web to get registration information about our half marathon, which is in about 2 weeks away, and found out that So Young’s bib number for the race is 2020.  (The bib is a piece of paper pinned to your clothing during a race to identify yourself.) That’s a pretty interesting number for a person whose eyesight is 4/200 at last measurement, vs. 20/20.

We’re thinking of good slogans for our T-shirts.

“I’m not slow… I just can’t see where I’m going!”

“Running/walking/crawling by faith, not by sight?”

So Young continues to train as best she can despite her tiredness and feelings of weakness. She is doing very well under the circumstances. As long as there’s no bus to pick us up at the back of the pack during the race because time has run out, we should be fine.

By the way, for any of you MCM Half runners out there: Do you know if there’s a bus for this race? We couldn’t find anything about it on their site.

10 Responses

  1. Well,
    That line from the old Irish hymn “Be Thou My Vision, O Lord of My Heart” w/ some Celtic + other distinctive family insignia
    would be something I would want on my back…

    Stand Proud.

    I love you,
    Ellen

    • Hi, Ellen!

      Thanks so much for writing. We want you to know we are praying for you and hope your health is improving. It’s really sweet of you to track the blog and encourage us.

      We love you, too!

      Hope to see you soon.

      Love,

      James and So Young

  2. Um, something from “Run in the Night.” Duh. (said in my best imitation of a twelve year old.)

  3. Bold and big “Running/Walking/Crawling by FAITH not by SIGHT”
    And smaller but still very legible Hebrews 11:1 captured under it.

  4. I prefer the new international verse.
    Heb 11:1 Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

    • Awesome! I tried to quote this very verse to her this morning to encourage her… But I got it wrong and she corrected me! So much for my help.

      Thanks for all the great ideas!

  5. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (Jeremiah 29:13)

    This one realy jumps out and reminds me of So Young!

    “I see with my heart not with my eyes!”
    Might be something she could use.

  6. I thought you could split your slogans as well as a heart with two eyes between your shirts with the edges of the shirts being the dividing line. I tried to sketch what I was thinking but it would look like jibberish and two disjointed ears if you weren’t close to each other. An artist I am not.

Leave a Reply

