Marine Corps Historic Half on Sunday

From James:

I hope to post on Twitter on Sunday, ideally during the race, if I can. You can follow me @wjgage if you are interested. Thanks to everyone who is supporting us through this race, whether it’s by watching the kids, coming out to support us, running the race with us, or sending us your well wishes. It is truly a team effort!

Debby, I want you to know we got your card! So Young loved it! Thank you. Also, thanks for the big letters and high contrast. Anybody who looks out for So Young’s disability like that is great in my book.

We’re meeting with some people for lunch at Applebee’s on Saturday after the race (at least, that’s the plan right now) if anybody who reads this blog is going to be down there. We hope to limp to the restaurant by noon or so. It’s the one off Plank Road in Central Park, pretty close to the start and finish lines.

And away we go! We’ll be sure to post a race report next week with photos of us looking all cool and athletic.

10 Responses

  1. I can’t get over the strength SoYoung has…..God Is So Good..Sending best wishes for the race and I am going to add you to my twitter…I will be praying for a good race and being in first place…

    You are married to an amazing woman….I don’t even like exercise…

    Love Robin

    • I did indeed marry an amazing woman! Thanks for the prayers and well wishes. — James

  2. Yea…glad you got the card…and I will be so thinking of you all on Sunday…So Young – just remember you can do this…you are so very awesome and you have so many people cheering you on everywhere…and James will be with you every step of the way…Many blessings my dear friends…next year I’ll be running alongside you…well, maybe behind you, but I’ll be there :o)

  3. gooooooooooo team gage!!!!! : D

    you two have especially been on my mind this week as i have it written on my handy dandy calendar that your race is tomorrow!!! wish i could have ran it w/ you guys! i can’t wait to hear all about it! so young is truly AMAZING in so, so many ways! you both are & we are so blessed to “run” with the gage’s!

    cheering for the gage’s,
    hayong = )

    • Hayong,

      Thank you for the well wishes and prayers! Must have worked! So Young did a great job. Plugged right through.

      God bless,

      James

  4. Good luck in the race today! One foot in front of the other. Kind of puts things in perspective, doesn’t it?

  5. Congratulations on your finish!! Well done! Remember, any finish is a good finish.

    • Thank you, Len! It was a pretty strong race but the slowest of all six half-marathons (understandably). — So Young (A.K.A. Ruby)

  6. Congratulations!!! You are such an inspiration to me.

  7. The girls and I checked your progress via the computer. They cheered as you finished. We had church at home. Lindsay and Shannon chose hymns. We sang. Shannon played Blessed Assurance, and Lindsay played Sweet Hour of Prayer. When we got to “what is the most important thing that we can ask of God, today,” Lindsay answered that Mommy is healed. Shannon answered that Mommy and Daddy come home safely. Audrey (thinking of the actual lesson) answered that we have enough food to share with other people. All of our little girls prayers were answered with a yes.

Leave a Reply

