Can’t Touch This!

From So Young:

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

I have been spending these days and months pondering the sweet truth of the Word. I don’t know where I’d be without the hope and joy found in it, but lately the mystery of his love for me.  Why me? Why should He love me? Why would He send his one and only Son to take on a penalty that I/we fully deserve?  It seems that when we need him most, in our darkest hour, He meets us where we are, providing what the world cannot give. He comes to save us, to rescue us from destruction. What a  merciful God! What a loving Father!

The enormity of love He has for me, for us, is like I’m hearing for the first time something I’ve known all my life. Sometimes I think this time of affliction has been a blessing in disguise. God has the best sense of humor, for in my blindness I see him most clearly.  He’s revealing so powerfully that Jesus is the true treasure that I seek. Moth and rust… Ha! Can’t touch this!

Chasing glory!

So Young

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 6:22-23

P.S.

This is a really inspiring video (Chris Tomlin’s I Lift My Hands) that you should check out:

http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=FJ0J9CNU

3 Responses

  1. Dear So Young,
    I thank and praise God so much for you and for all the ways He is working in your life. Your faith, your full dependence on Him inspires and encourages us and reminds us in such a powerful way that He really is all that we need. Thank you for sharing your journey of faith and reminding us of God’s Word–His love, His grace, His faithfulness. We continue to keep you and your beautiful family in our prayers. I love you, So Young :)! Looking so forward to the dinner with you and the other moms :)!

  2. So Young, I can relate to this post. I have thought the same things. Why would a love that is so beyond us reach out to me? I can say that in our times of desperation, when we most desperately seek God, He meets us with not only compassion… He meets us with PASSION. Times like these give new meaning to the phrase “draw near to God, He wil draw near to you”. Where troubles are found in our lives, we have a tendency to come close to God, and I for one am so glad that He blesses us with that closeness in times of need. Don’t ever let that closeness get away, it has cost much. Trust us, we know.
    Praying for you all still…

  3. Why should God love YOU? Um, leaving aside “you’re awesome, duh!” why do you love YOUR children?

    🙂

Leave a Reply

