Two Years after Diagnosis and MRI Tomorrow

From James:

Today marks the two-year anniversary of the original MRI revealing So Young’s brain tumor. It’s an interesting coincidence that we have another important MRI taking place tomorrow, this time to assess the effectiveness of the chemo after the tumor began growing again, this time rapidly on her brain stem.

Once again we want to thank everyone for your prayers and many ways of showing support. A couple of examples: My colleagues at the State Department generously donated money to pay for medical expenses, many of whom have never met So Young or the girls. Also, you may have read a few comments on the blog recently from Seattle. These are friends of Ann, a beloved friend of So Young’s with whom she shared Christ just after the diagnosis. Ann became a Christian, moved across the country, and found a new family of believers to whom she is now a blessing. They’ve been writing on the blog to tell So Young how the legacy she left with Ann has carried over as a blessing to them. It’s such a meaningful thing for So Young to hear. It shows her that her life has made a difference in the midst of suffering. Those are just two examples. There are many more.

I want to ask for your prayers for my coworker Jennifer, who has posted comments on this blog before and continues to show support and concern for So Young. She recently underwent serious back surgery and is recovering. She could really use your prayers as well.

I’ll tweet the results of So Young’s MRI tomorrow, possibly around 4 p.m. or so. Thanks again for everything!

10 Responses

  1. Praying without ceasing, until she’s entirely healed. Let the smackdown of healing commence! (that still cracks me up every.single.time)

  2. Praying for you.

  3. Praying for safe travel, wisdom for the doctors, peace and of course, complete healing. I don’t know God’s plan for So Young and you. I do know that He loves you with an everlasting love. I see His love clearly demonstrated by your friends, neighbors, our church, and complete strangers. Although my love for you is just a small shadow of God’s love for you, I love you with all of my heart and I’m proud of your faithful courage. Mom

  4. You all are in my prayers constantly and I am looking forward to hearing about improvements!

  5. Love and prayers…
    Debby

  6. Let me share with you something about So Young. It’s kind of lengthy, but it tells you about the heart of So Young, and what difference she makes. If you’ve been reading her blog, you know ironically how much healing there has been in her own life throughout all this. I want to now share what So Young has done for me. I had known So Young for over a decade through a friend, and always felt a strong kinship with her, but had not really kept in touch much. Two years ago, I heard she discovered she has a brain tumor. I set out to visit and comfort a friend, but little did I know, she set out to save a friend. She tells me “Ann, there’s something I’ve always wanted to do but wasn’t bold enough to do it. And there are some things I want to do before I die.” “I want to make sure you accept Christ.” So Young has always invited me to her church, and I visited on a few occasions. If I ever had any problem, her solution was always centered around her faith. “Okay”, I said to her, but I left it at that. About half an hour later, she pressed on again and said “are you ready?” So that day, I accepted Christ. So Young tells me, “if any good comes out of this [the brain tumor], it is this.” As tearful as the event was for So Young and I, I did not know what it all meant to accept Christ. A year had passed, I moved to Seattle with my husband, and I became pregnant. This was something I always wanted, but I was not prepared to hear the news from a screening that I had a 1 in 4 chance of having a child with Down Syndrome. For a while So Young was actually my only support in my determination to have this child no matter what. She’d often call unexpectedly at crucial moments, like an hour before another one of these screenings. She had her small group pray for me, and when I called unexpectedly before another scary screening, she gathered her three daughters to pray for me and my unborn child. After a few months, we started getting better news about the baby, and she’d call to rejoice in the pregnancy, but she had been doing that all along. She was so excited for me and felt as though she herself was having a baby. During this time, she had been asking around to find a church for me to attend in Seattle. She got a suggestion from her pastor and I went to visit the church. First person to greet me was the pastor there though I didn’t recognize who he was at first because he was dressed in plain clothes. Eventually he invited me to check out the small groups. So I politely went to the counter and the person behind the counter looks up a small group that meets near where I live. Before I knew it, she writes an email to the group leader on my behalf, and I was committed to visit the group. I had no idea what business I had visiting a bible study group when I hardly ever attended church in the first place. Out of obligation I visited the house where they met. These were nice people, with all these young children—about as many as there were adults! And I found myself coming back to these meetings. I would have never believed years earlier that I would be going to bible study. Surely there are more fun and fulfilling things to do than this. And who has the time?! I never knew what to expect when I come, but I always left feeling good. And these people welcomed us with an invitation to one of their wedding, held a baby shower for us, and kept making sure we had what we needed for the new baby, who by the way turned out to be a healthy girl. After the recent news about So Young’s condition, I told the group about her. And they wanted to write to her on her blog. I knew how happy So Young would be to hear from them. And I’m reminded of her story and testimony on her blog—she asked what difference does she make, and she asked for a better testimony. She would take on suffering to save others. Sounds familiar? If I ever wonder what it means to be a Christian, I only have to think about So Young. She has been a faithful friend to me, but I know that I am not the only one with a ‘So Young story’.

    • Ann,

      This is very possibly the most beautiful thing I have ever read. So Young is sleeping right now (long day), but I’ll read it to her tomorrow.

      James

      • I had forgotten to mention one of the most touching things about So Young. Even given devastating news about her tumor progression and how it has left her bedridden and unable to see, she still asks about the baby and rejoices in her birth. And while I was left speechless about her condition, she asked me what I thought about it, and then told me, “It’s going to be alright.” These words reverberate from months ago when she told me, “It’s going to be alright. I don’t know what that means, but it’s going to be alright.” Now, in the midst of uncertainty about her own life, she comforts OTHERS about it, and still rejoices over their blessings.

  7. I don’t know how to tweet. Can you post a small response on the blog? Praying. Marilyn

  8. This is a beautiful thread.

Leave a Reply

