So Young’s Race Is Complete

So Young went to heaven very early this morning, probably around 1 a.m. She died peacefully, without pain or struggle. We were honored to know her, but it’s clear that her race here on earth was complete, and God wanted to take her home to be with him. She always spoke so fondly of heaven. It has always been her true home.

So Young, we already miss you so much. We have missed you as a wife and mother since your illness got worse a few months ago. It is so much worse now that you are truly gone. We wish you could have stayed. Why did God take you at this age, So Young? But I’m sure on the other side you are restored. I can imagine you smiling and hearing your voice again. We just want another hug or kiss. It hurts to know we won’t have that again. But you wanted us to celebrate you going to heaven, so that’s what we are going to do. There is truly much to celebrate about you and how you lived your life. You continue to be an inspiration to many.

A visitation will be held tomorrow, March 1, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at Fairfax Memorial Funeral Home. The funeral service will be on Saturday at 1 p.m. at Fairfax Memorial Funeral Home, although the funeral home strongly recommends that that you arrive no later than 12:30 p.m.

Finisher's Medal

23 Responses

  1. This is how I always think of her. She inspired and encouraged every single one of us more than I think she ever knew. Her MCM family grieves her loss and celebrates her life with you.

  2. I’m glad to have seen you/her again last year. I feel an emptiness/sadness right now, and my heart grieves for you. You’re in my prayers bro and always will be. Now let’s finish our race strong too with the confidence knowing we’ll see her again one day. Soli Deo Gloria.

  3. My heart truly aches. I wish I could fly in tomorrow to pay my respect to a beautiful, sweet friend. I regret not keeping up all these years but like Steven Curtis Chapman’s song, we know this goodbye is not the end…with hope we will see your face again.

    • Bill, thanks for posting this link. Awesome song and has helped me deal with how I’m feeling right now.

  4. I never met So Young but have prayed for her and your family. I am glad that she finally is home and restored. Know that I continue to offer prayers for you and your three daughters — that God would give you strength in these very difficult days of grief.

    James, it has been a privilege to have followed this journey through your blog.
    Thank you for allowing a ‘virtual friend’ to share in this unbelievable marathon: one that you have taken right alongside So Young.

    Bless you and your girls.

    Pax Christi.
    Amy

  5. I am with Firecat…she was an inspiration and a great joy to be with – she always encouraged me on our trail runs and I can picture her now, running those hills at the Marina and her looking back at me telling me I could do it. She is much loved and will sorely be missed, but so glad she is now fully at peace. Thinking of you all. Love and hugs.
    Debby (AKA Colorado Dreaming)

  6. I miss you so much sweet sister. Rest with the angels and keep praying for us. You have run this race well and finished courageously. Well done.

  7. Always an inspiration in all ways. Faith beyond understanding. I am sure, like you said, she is restored and may well be running with Jesus today.
    James, you and your family have my deepest sympathy for your loss and my prayers. You will see her again in heaven.
    Kara and Jaymeson

  8. My deepest condoleances to the Gage’s family. Soyoung was an amazing person. She was always so kind and considerate. Her passing will leave a big void in our lives but her memory will remain forever in our hearts.
    My sincere thoughts and prayers are with you.
    With Deepest sympathy.

    Annette Sikali.

  9. Our prayers are with you and your family at this time. Treasure all the memories of So Young always in your heart.

  10. She was a shining example of faith, mom, wife and runner and so much more! My condolences to you, James and your girls.

  11. My prayers are with you and your family. So Young was a great inspiration to many, many people. She is now at home in the arms of her Lord.

  12. James

    I was just informed of this very sad news. She is in a better place but very clearly leaves a painful void behind. My thoughts are with you and your family. Please accept my heartfelt condolences.

    John Clark

  13. So Young loved her family and friends so much. She truely cared about everyone in her life. She would call to see how things were going…pray over the phone together and would always end the conversation with I love you… I will miss her more than words can say…

  14. Our prayers are with the Gage family. I will never forget her kindness when we adopted our daughter.

  15. Our thoughts and prayers are with the Gage family, just know that So Young is in a better place now. 2 Corinthians 5:8 “We are confident, yes, well pleased rather to be absent from the body and to be present with the Lord”, just know she is still with you in your heart and memories keep those close.

  16. James, I learned of the news this morning and I am deeply saddened. I will pray for you brother and your children. Although it aches and there is a void in our hearts, we can rest assured knowing that So Young is in the arms and comfort of our almighty God. May the Lord bless you and bring an overwhelming peace knowing that she now rests and rejoices in heaven.

  17. My deepest condolescences for your family’s loss. I never personally met you or So Young (“met” her through MCM forums), but you have both served as inspirations for faith, commitment, love, etc. Your family has been in my thoughts and prayers, and will remain there.

  18. James,
    The service today honored So Young and glorified God. I will continue to pray for you and for the girls. I am so thankful that God brought your mother and father into our lives. Thank you for the wonderful tribute to your wife and the God honoring service that you and So Young designed together.

  19. James, we and the world are certainly poorer today, with So Young’s passing. At the same time what cheers me, is her absolute faith and complete certainty of what awaited her at this particular finish line. You often hear the marathon as metaphor for life. So Young lived that every minute, she embodied that. Let us hope we can all follow her example.

  20. James, the celebration of So Young’s life yesterday was wonderful and inspiring. Not only So Young but you also have become a beacon of the Lord’s love and hope. Thank you for sharing all of this, and trust that you and the girls are in the prayers of many that God will encircle you all with his love and compassion and allow you to have hope.

  21. Praying for you and your girls my friend. Know this: He will wipe every tear from your eyes. So Young knows no more of death, crying, sadness, or pain, because for her, all of those old ways are gone. Remember that God is near to the broken hearted, He saves the crushed in spirit. John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you, and this not as the world gives. Let not your heart be troubled, or afraid.” My heart hurts with you for your loss, even as my eyes look to the skies and know that she is casting her crowns at His feet.

  22. I suppose I knew it was happening, but in my heart, I can’t believe it. Our prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

